Single Degree of Freedom

Single Degree of Freedom

Chicago, Illinois, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2003 | SELF

Chicago, Illinois, United States | SELF
Established on Jan, 2003
Band Rock Punk




This band has no press


Single Degree of Freedom (2021)
1. Shattering Joy (on Myspace)
2. One of A Kind (on Myspace)
3. Back From the Edge
4. Boat Trip (on Myspace)
5. Afidia
6. Try to Breathe Life
7. Break of J (on Myspace)
8. Hope In Tears
9. Movin' On
10. Columbia
11. Audible Illusion
12. The Bard Song



The band was formed loosely way back in high school as just two guys jamming on a regular basis for fun. After years of having friends and acquaintances of Justin (drums, vocals) and Charlie (lead guitar) fill in randomly with other guitarists, a steady group formed with addition of Doug on bass and James on rhythm guitar and lead vocals. We finally could complete enough material to play a show now that the missing pieces were in place.
In 2008 we played our first gig on the North side of Chicago and the name of Single Degree of Freedom became official. Since then we have steadily progressed from just playing metal-influenced punk rock to our differentiated list of tracks that range from the celtic inspired "The Bard Song" and passionate rock of "Boat Trip" to the intense punk of "Shattering Joy" and our flagship metal ballad "Audible Illusion".
In 2009 we participated in the Emergenza festival and were a city finalist, placing 7th out of about 100 bands that competed from the city and suburbs. 

From 2009 to present we have completed recording an album and played some local Chicago area shows.

Band Members