Luke James Shaffer
Gig Seeker Pro

Luke James Shaffer

Bethesda, Maryland, United States | Established. Jan 01, 2014

Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Established on Jan, 2014
Solo Alternative Singer/Songwriter


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos



This band has no press


Still working on that hot first release.



  • Luke James Shaffer has been playing music full-time for the last 2 years but has been working on his music career for almost a decade.


  • After graduating Bowling Green State University he moved to New York City to pursue music. He lived there for 2 years making contacts and playing in some of New York's most popular singer/songwriter venues. 


  • While he was living there he auditioned for American Idol (Seasons 9 and 10). He had some success (check out this video!) making it to the top 50 both years just one cut shy of being on the live show. After season 10 Luke recorded his first EP, Fresh EP in NYC.


  • He won 1st place on an online competition called "Just Let Me Sing" in 2010. He wrote a song called "Marching On" which he got to record in Nashville, TN at The Record Shop. He also performed on Balcony TV while in Nashville. (See the Balcony TV Video here!)


  • Luke took a chance on an online web series called "Take the Stage" with Johnny Wright in 2012 through a website called It is a reality based web series determined entirely by votes from viewers online. The co-judge and guest star of the show was major producer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins. Both Johnny and Rodney saw something special in Luke's original song "Marching On" which Luke got to fly out to L.A. and re-produce with Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins. It's set to come out sometime this fall. Luke took 3rd place overall on "Take the Stage".


  • Luke released his first full-length studio album in December 2012 self titled "Brooklyn Love". It's 18 original songs all written and performed by Luke James Shaffer and his band mates Mark Williams and Rory Taylor (Luke James & The Thieves). Luke used the fundraising website to raise the funds necessary to record the album. He was very blessed to have the support to raise more than enough money to fully fund the album and disc duplication and various fees associated with making an album. He wants to again thank everyone for the support! His band mates Rory Taylor (Bassist) and Mark Williams (Drummer) joined him on this album. It was recorded at Little Elephant Recording in Rossford, OH

Band Members